Opening a Roth IRA

Ethan

Level 2 Member
I am looking into opening a Roth IRA, and am interested in Vanguard. I'll likely invest it in a Target Date Retirement Fund to start with, and then perhaps move it into VTSMX or VTI later on. I am a novice investor, and would like to eventually become more savvy, however, I would also like to get started now. Is there an advantage to Vanguard or another service such as Betterment or Wealthfront for someone in my situation with my level of experience?

Matt

Administrator
Staff member
The difference isn't really of note at this level. Vanguard will charge you a touch more than WF as they will manage the first 10-15K for free. Free means that they waive their overlay fee, but you still pay for the underlying ETFs. But once the account grows, Vanguards fee starts to even out, and eventually becomes the cheapest. Regardless.. when all's said and done, we're not talking about anything of note.

The real value add of a Robo like Wealthfront/Betterment is in a taxable account, in an advantaged it is diminished. You could go with whatever you prefer, but perhaps if you do intend to get more savvy later, a target date keeps everything with Vanguard and easier to transition/manage down the road.

A bigger question might be why the Roth? - because that is a potential 4 figure decision. Roths are great, but best when your present salary (and therefore tax bracket) is low. If you are in the mid-high brackets, you might want to think about the traditional instead.

Tom Capone

Level 2 Member
Matt - agreed on the Roth vs. Traditional. A couple of other points:
  • If your tax rate now is the same as when you retire, there is no economic difference between a Roth and Traditional. Higher taxes in retirement, Roth is better.
  • Assuming no change in tax rate, the same dollar amount contribution in a Roth today will cost you more today but provide a larger after tax amount in retirement than a traditional retirement.