Income coming in from overseas, any advice on how to plan retirement?

Duffman033

Level 2 Member
hello!
So, I have been traveling/working overseas the past 4 years and I don't see it stopping anytime soon. I just spent all my savings and what not to pay off my student loans (20k). Yea, I know it was a lot, but I really just wanted to get out of debt as soon as possible. So now I am starting from about 3k to my name and really want to start planning for retirement, as I won't have a 401k and it doesn't look like I will earn an income in the US in at least 6-7 years. I am only 26, so I am still fairly young, I believe, haha. At the end of each month, I would only have about $1,500 to put away. So I was wondering if anyone has any advice, books I could read or anything of that sort. I have heard about opening a ROTH IRA, but it says that the money has to be taxed first and the money I earn from overseas is under the tax exempt.

Thanks for any help. I am very new to investing/retirement so anything is helpful!

Matt

Administrator
Staff member
You are somewhat correct about the Roth. It seems that if you were to exclude your overseas income using the form 2555 FEIE then you wouldn't be able to contribute to a Roth unless your salary is in a real small sweet spot (above the exemption amount of $99,200 and below the cap of $116/131K where it phases out).

There seems to be one work around, but it shouldn't be considered in isolation. If you were to elect to take the foreign tax credit (form 1116) rather than exclude, it might create a situation where you are able to fund a Roth, but you need to realize that doing so will likely change the amount you pay in tax, and also will require that you itemize, which for many can be less beneficial than the standard deduction....