What happens if you miss your international flight when flying on a FC saver award

KyRoamer

Level 2 Member
Arrive LGA on AA. Depart EWR on BA.
I arrive LGA at 1:40 pm on a Monday and depart EWR on BA at 6:25 pm. I am flying on a AA FC award ticket.

I should have enough time to get my bags and take a car service from LGA to EWR and make my connection but
what if I miss it? Flat tire, accident in tunnel, etc could delay me.

Would BA put me on the next day's flight if seats were available or only if there was award inventory?

BTW I tried to get to NYC the day before but no tickets award tickets were available and this is for next May!!! My flight options to NYC are all on American Eagle.

Matt

Administrator
Staff member
This is one of those useless replies, because I am no expert at the rules here, but here goes:

You aren't going to miss it. It's a 43 minute drive - there will be traffic for some of that so maybe 1:20. If you are really worried about it, cab to Penn and get the train.

As for if you did (which you won't) I would 'guess' that if there was a seat in F you would get it, but it might be that there is not and in which case you are SOL.

Hopefully a more program savvy person can answer more definitively, but I would be very confident regarding being able to snag an F seat if it was open using nothing more than basic politeness and social skills.

smittytabb

Staff member
Arrive LGA on AA. Depart EWR on BA.
I arrive LGA at 1:40 pm on a Monday and depart EWR on BA at 6:25 pm. I am flying on a AA FC award ticket.

I should have enough time to get my bags and take a car service from LGA to EWR and make my connection but
what if I miss it? Flat tire, accident in tunnel, etc could delay me.

Would BA put me on the next day's flight if seats were available or only if there was award inventory?

BTW I tried to get to NYC the day before but no tickets award tickets were available and this is for next May!!! My flight options to NYC are all on American Eagle.