The shopping cart trick: how to get a credit card without a hard pull

NickPFD

Mmmm.... yeah....
Staff member

My esteemed blogging colleague Matt recently made it clear that he’s not an expert:

I’m not an expert, I’m just a guy. Sure, I’ve done some cool things with points and miles, and yes, my finances have some neat things attached to them, but I’m not an expert…

I know a few things, but I am not the fount of all knowledge, in fact on a manufactured spending level I currently don’t do much at all, while I did put things on hold for the mortgage application I was going through, even at full steam ahead I am only doing 3-4 very basic and simple things each month as I just don’t have access to many options, and even when I do I just don’t have enough time or capacity to always practice what I preach.

I’d like to officially join Matt in the “just a guy” group. I love credit cards, I love figuring out how to maximize my rewards, and I love staying on top of the latest deals, but at the same time I have a full time job, a full-time family, and not nearly enough time to learn and do everything with credit cards, points, and miles that I would love to do.

Because of this I’ll occasionally throw out an idea which I haven’t investigated myself, and today is such a day. In last week’s post on retailer credit cards, a few commenters voiced the opinion that the rewards from retailer credit cards aren’t worth getting a hard pull. Different people can disagree on what exactly a hard pull is worth, but everybody can agree that all things being equal, it’s best not to have too many hard pulls.

There apparently is something called the “shopping cart trick” which lets you get a credit card without a hard pull. I’ve seen it mentioned in a few places as a way for people with poor credit to build up their credit file, but if it works it would also be a way for people to reap retail credit card rewards without getting too many applications for new credit on their file.