Student Loans: Fixed vs. Variable and Private vs. Federal

MarkD

Level 2 Member
I'm checking out student loan rates on the Discover Student Loan site for my kids and I see private loan variable rates based upon the 3-month LIBOR (currently .25%) + at least 3.24% for a total of 3.49% versus fixed rates of 5.99%.

The government based Federal Direct Parent PLUS loans offered by the schools are a fixed 7.21%.

Being that the 3-month LIBOR has been below 1% since 2009, it seems like the private variable rate starting at 3.49% is the way to go.

With a good credit score, a little research and initiative you can cut the interest rate in half over what the schools offer you.

Is it that simple or am I missing something? I realize that it is variable and may change in the future, but...

VDebs

Level 2 Member
The but is the question really. As a grad student I can tell you that those points make a huge difference when you go into pay down mode. There's always the threat of a catastrophic shift in interest rates, but given the 20+ years of ZIRP I don't see how that happens without much larger problems coming with it.

Basically, if rates move from ZIRP then your increased loan bill is probably the least of your worries.

Matt

Administrator
Staff member
You should certainly factor interest rates raising by a point or two over the next 4 years as a minimum, just for projection purposes. However, as you say that will still make the private loan more attractive (providing you qualify for the best rate).

I was looking through the various rules and regs and the biggest issue that I could spot was:

If a parent claims a student as a dependent but the student is legally obligated to pay the interest on the loan, then neither the student nor the parent may deduct the student loan interest.
So you should factor that in when you consider how you structure the loan in terms of guarantor.