stocks from acquisition of a startup

LowHassleMS

Level 2 Member
Pardon my ignorance, I'm really new to this and don't wish to be spoon fed but would appreciate if you can show where the drawer with spoons is.

i used to work at a startup in 2010, received some stocks (vested) and bought them around $1300 when I left. This startup got acquired by a public company in 2013 and I received around $40k worth of the acquiring company's stock.

I'd like to cash it out in a cost effective manner so that I can use this money as a down payment towards a house. I'm planning to go to a CPA but want to well informed. Any suggestions you can make?

I can probably open a brokerage a/c with fidelity and get a decent chunk of miles or cash. Any other worthwhile ways of making the best out of this situation?

Thanks

Matt

Administrator
Staff member
Just to clarify your question, are you wondering how to take a lump sum and benefit from the 'new money' bonuses out there, such as miles from Fidelity or cash out in an effective manner?

If you want to get miles from new money $40K wouldn't get you very much, and you should know that you'll likely have to leave the money in the account for 9 months with many brokers (including Fidelity) in order to avoid clawback,

You bigger concern should be capital gains - while it sounds like your basis is $1300 and from 2010 until you have the acquisition stock transaction examined you can't be sure - if for some reason that transaction pushed the basis date forward into 2013 then you have the potential to sell into a short term capital gain rate, which will mean if you liquidate those stocks now you will lose a lot more (depending on your tax bracket) than if you hold them for a year and they switch over into a long term capitial asset.

LowHassleMS

Level 2 Member