Paying with UR cheaper than transferring points?

SeanPIT

Level 2 Member
Hi all. I'm new, so bear with me here. Just about everything I've been reading during the past couple of months has indicated that it's better to transfer Ultimate Rewards to airline miles/points than to book directly through the UR mall. But, out of curiosity, I checked out the cost of a PIT>AMS round-trip in March, and I found the opposite. It would cost appx. 90k UR points but 130k MileagePlus miles for the same trip. As I said, I'm just learning, so I want to know if I'm missing something obvious, or if this trip actually would be better booked through the UR mall.

Thanks!
Seán

asthejoeflies

Staff member
I assume both these flights are in economy? If that's the case, then booking with United is probably at the "standard", more expensive level, and yes in that case UR would be a better deal. But if you are flying from USA=>Europe in economy at the "saver" level, it should cost 60K round trip on United which would be the better deal. The trick is finding the "saver" space (blue if you're using the United website, as opposed to standard which is yellow)

Matt

Administrator
Staff member
I assume both these flights are in economy? If that's the case, then booking with United is probably at the "standard", more expensive level, and yes in that case UR would be a better deal. But if you are flying from USA=>Europe in economy at the "saver" level, it should cost 60K round trip on United which would be the better deal. The trick is finding the "saver" space (blue if you're using the United website, as opposed to standard which is yellow)
Agreed. There was no way this was a Biz ticket due to the low number of UR required so it was an award space issue. Sean, it can be that there are times where it is better to pay with UR in the way you suggest, but it is almost always for Domestic flights. You should never book those yellow awards, always try to find blue.

UA.png