P2P Investments like Lending Club or Prosper..have you tried them?

Frozen

Level 2 Member
Does anyone invest with any af the P2P lending companies like Lending Club or Prosper? I signed up for accounts with both but have not funded them yet. I'm still doing some background research on them and would like to get opinions.

Matt

Administrator
Staff member
Yes, when I researched them back in the day I invested with Prosper. I have since learned that 99.9999998% of all blogs who write about them do so for affiliate revenue.

They are basically junk bonds, and highly illiquid.

kingabraham3

Level 2 Member
I've been using LC for a couple years. Supposedly I'm projected to have an annualized return of about 6%. That's enough to keep me somewhat happy, but its definitely a few points less than what their historical data projected for my portfolio. Not sure why, but my guess is their data is somewhat undercounting the likelihood of default.

[edit: if you do plan to invent 5K+ let me know and I'll give you a referral link for $100 bonus. Not sure if this violates any forum rules, but I won't get any bonus on my end anyways]

Matt

Administrator
Staff member
Thank you for the feedback Matt. So I assume you suggest I avoid both companies.
Hard to say without knowing the full picture, but its the sort of investment I would put into the speculative/play category that should occur way after the basics like savings/retirement/paying down debt etc.

Frozen

Level 2 Member
[edit: if you do plan to invent 5K+ let me know and I'll give you a referral link for $100 bonus. Not sure if this violates any forum rules, but I won't get any bonus on my end anyways]
Thank you for the feedback. Do you use one of the automated systems to get your 6% return?

I actually just set up a transfer from my bank for $500 to start as a test. I'm not sure I want to start with $5K but thank you for the offer.

If you have any other tips or advice on LC I'd be interested in hearing them.

kingabraham3