Need some help to get started on my research

Linda marshall

Level 2 Member
I am a great researcher and I learn quickly, at least once I know where to begin. I'm currently stuck in my efforts to figure out booking award travel for a trip to Europe with my daughter this summer. I'm particularly confused about the reason for checking out alliance partners--here is the question: is it simply to find more availability, or is it actually possible to save miles? If I want to fly business class from US to Paris, London, or frankly any other western european city (we have very flexible travel plans at this point), am I pretty much locked into the 57,5K mile rate chart provided by AA or is it possible that by researching alliance partnerships, I may be able to fly to Europe for fewer miles?

Another question- I have an Amex Business Plat card, which I understand offers a 50% reimbursement of travel miles if I buy business class on my preferred airline. If I don't have enough points for both of our tickets (currently I have about 120K), how can I use that benefit to my advantage (2 one way tickets? or find the same ticket for my daughter using another source?)

I have plenty Chase UR miles which I could transfer to United (or a SA partner), are the United open jaw tickets still an option if we wanted to travel from US to Paris (layover) to our final destination (wherever that would be in western europe)? Seems like I read somewhere that those were not as available as they once were . . .

Finally, is there a basic resource available to help me make sense of all of this? Has anyone written the definitive guide to booking award travel?

Again, I recognize the value of time and money and it probably would make the most sense for me to enlist the help of a professional award booking service, but then I would miss out on the learning part, which is not only good for my brain, but also the part that makes travel feel rewarding (having put in the work to put it all together).