JFK-SNN Aer Linus Avios booking

Voyaging Doc

Level 2 Member
Just called into East asia's BA line to book an RT JFK-SNN-JFK flight. The agent went through the whole process with me. Of course I nicely asked him to remove the booking fees as I could not book Aer Lingus flights over the phone. He put me on hold for 10 minutes, and then begrudgingly complied and asked for me to confirm. I confirmed and then was put on hold for the final booking process. I refreshed expertflyer and found the available seats dropped by 2 for my flights, then he gets back on the phone and said "sorry sir because these flights are not operated by Aer lingus and is operated by a separate partner you cannot use avios for redemption. Thank you." <click>.

Anyone know anything about this? I'll probably try again on the US line but I wanted to see if anyone had any similar experiences? This is my first time booking BA over the phone as I've always used avios for domestic US. These are EI flights 110 and 111, and I thought people were commonly booking these routes, especially since I've procrastinated and now there is 0 premium cabin availability.

Voyaging Doc

Level 2 Member
HUCA worked like a charm. Guess there are some agents that are just downright unpleasant no matter how respectful you come across. I'm not sure if my initial booking attempt failed because i tried to call the Hong kong line and he claimed that I couldn't use avios for EI because the flights were managed by "Air Contractors."

TheBOSman

Staff member