How many Twitter accounts?

italdesign

Level 2 Member
I'm new to Twitter and have run into something of a pondering: should I have a single Twitter account for miles and points, or multiple?

Why multiple? My understanding is anything I tweet will go into the feed of my followers. I often tweet airlines for help, and my followers certainly don't need to see those. So I currently have 2 accounts: one for my thoughts that followers may find interesting, and another for mundane help requests.

But the latter has no follower. And I'm being ignored on some help requests (ehm, @AmericanAir), which makes me wonder if airlines are prioritizing responses based on the popularity of the account (which wouldn't surprise me). Which makes me question if there is a way to tweet the airlines from my main account without highlighting those tweets to my followers (not that I have many) after all.

Thoughts?

PainCorp

Level 2.14 on Dining/Travel until 12/15
I just separated amex sync into different accounts, but if you start the tweet with @AskAmex, or whatever, it's seen as a reply, and won't be broadcast to everyone. This is why you sometimes see tweets with .@AskAmex, so it goes to everyone, and Amex would still get tagged.

italdesign

Level 2 Member
Interesting. Do I understand correctly, that if your tweet starts with a @handle, then that tweet will only be visible to the @handle account, whereas if the @handle is anywhere after the first character in your tweet, then it will go to the feed of all your followers. Is that right?

PainCorp

Level 2.14 on Dining/Travel until 12/15
It will be visible to anyone if they look at "tweets and replies," but not shown in the feed. Twitter sees these as a reply, and not an standalone tweet.

italdesign

Level 2 Member
Alas, it seems your reply still shows in followers' feed IF they also follow the account you replied to. Not a huge deal, but is there a way to mute those?

smittytabb

Staff member