Hitchhiking/Riding the Rails

Brennan

Level 2 Member
Anybody hitchhiked and/or hopped trains in the U.S. or otherwise? I'm a videographer...thinking about taking and documenting a trip that is the ultimate antithesis of the luxury travel we enjoy so much. Any crazy budget travel stories/tips/ideas?

MickiSue

Level 2 Member
Yes. Don't.

Sorry, I'm a mom, and it's hardwired.

But seriously...you can end up in jail (or just dead, depending on whether you manage to "hop" safely) for riding in train cars.

You can merely end up dead, or violated, or robbed, for hitching.

Brennan

Level 2 Member
Yes. Don't.

Sorry, I'm a mom, and it's hardwired.

But seriously...you can end up in jail (or just dead, depending on whether you manage to "hop" safely) for riding in train cars.

You can merely end up dead, or violated, or robbed, for hitching.
:) @MickiSue I'm glad you're here.

Definitely risks to it...I also know several normal sane people who've done both. I tend to enjoy off the beaten path, adventure type travel (half a dozen trips to Haiti, serving in riot zones, tent cities, remote villages, etc)

This is more of just a thought and research topic at this point, though. Gathering data...

Was just curious if any of the intrepid travelers on here have experience.

zceuxbhjutf

Panel 3 Member
Ted Conover is a pretty good author. Read...
Rolling Nowhere: Riding the Rails with America's Hoboes, 1984, ISBN 978-0-670-60319-0

Barefootwoman

Level 2 Member
"I was totin' my pack along the dusty Winnemucca road,
When along came a semi with a high an' canvas-covered load.
"If you're goin' to Winnemucca, Mack, with me you can ride."
And so I climbed into the cab and then I settled down inside.
He asked me if I'd seen a road with so much dust and sand.
And I said, "Listen, I've traveled every road in this here land!" - J Cash

I think there are ways to do it and people who can do it - in such a way as to minimize the risks.