General discussion : Careers

Ethan

Level 2 Member
Did this subsection disappear? I was just reading the posts in it, and was formulating a post of my own, looking for career advice for switching into the tech field.

Matt

Administrator
Staff member
Crap. I hadn't seen any traction in the area and removed it when cleaning up today... If you can post here I'll move it into the newly recreated forum for you.

Ethan

Level 2 Member
I’m looking for advice on a career switch into the tech field. This would be a career and field switch. I have a bachelor’s degree in an unrelated field (environmental science) with a minor in economics from Northwestern University. Since college, I have worked in a variety of different jobs in a variety of fields including environmental educator, the building trades (carpentry, stone masonry), wilderness trip leader, among others. I’m currently working with a land conservation organization as a field assistant, monitoring, maintaining and improving the land preserves that my organization owns. I don’t know if/how my skills would translate to tech.

What is the best way to make a switch in the tech field? Should I pursue graduate school? A more focussed training on a specific skill or skill set? MBA? Data science certificate?

Any insight on this endeavor would be greatly appreciated.

Matt

Administrator
Staff member
  • Why?
  • What is it that you see about tech that interests you?
  • What role within tech are you seeking? Can you visualize your day, would it be people focused, would it be working in front end design, network, security?
  • Would you want to be working for a vendor of technology (IE your role fits into selling to a business or customer)
  • Do you want to work for a start up?
  • What tech skills do you have now? Can you code? Are you familiar with command line/terminal/git?
  • What makes you think that tech is right for you?
I don’t know if/how my skills would translate to tech.