EWR to ORD for 12/19/15 Please help

Saphira2021

Level 2 Member
I think I am in well over my head. I have never done any MS before but wanted to start when that nice 100,000 miles offer came up for Amex Platinum. So I did. The spend part was easy enough with help from a friend but this second part is a lot more confusing. I sincerely hope for some help, otherwise my nice shiny new miles will go unused and I have wasted $450 on annual fees. I hope that is not the case. And I really want to learn how to do this as I just found out that I can finally retire any time I please.

I need to go to Chicago for a family event to be there on 12/19/15. A couple of days before and a couple of days after in/out would be great. Here are the basics:

We are flexible. Best to fly out of EWR going to ORD. Don't care the airline. Coach is all we want. 3 people round trip, 1 person one way. Have to seat at least 2 and 2 together and 3 together coming back. Truly not picky, leave between 10am and 3 pm and come back between 11 and 3. Times are flexible just not earlier so we can actually get there. One condition: nonstop flights only.
American and United seem to be competing in our market
United 755 12/17 and 436 12/21 seem reasonable price and time wise for example.

Can someone please guide me through this? I want to learn but I also can't take much longer booking as I am worried that there will be no seats left.

Thank you

Saphira2021

Level 2 Member
Yes, I also just got Amex PRG with 50k miles, but I haven't yet spent the $1k to get that. However, I now know enough to do that in a day. So if this is needed, just tell me.

Matt

Administrator
Staff member
This is what I do.. I know that Amex transfers to British Airways... BA is super for short flights as they run a distance based mileage program. There's no difference between booking a RT and 2 one ways with BA (there are some perks with other programs).