Are Miles, Points, and Cashback Taxable by the IRS?

tmount

Administrator

Note: I am not a tax professional.

I was recently reading a post on the Tax Implications of Reselling and MS by Noah at Money Metagame, and at first, felt the need to comment, but as I found myself writing…and writing….and writing, I figured it may be better to just write a post.

Let’s take down the easy answer first:

Miles and Points

Generally speaking, miles and points as earned by travel (yes, open ended term), are generally viewed as “Rebates,” and are not in fact taxable. I agree with Noah, this is a gray area, however, I look to people smarter than me, to try to do some interpretation. In this case, to Gary Leff who writes View from the Wing, who has written a fair amount about the taxation of miles. However, there is a caveat, as noted in the second link, and if I may remind you of Citibank sending out 1099-MISC forms for those who received bonus miles or points for opening up a Citibank Checking Account. Now, based on my research, it seems like you can avoid being taxed on the Citibank Checking Account Bonus by not redeeming the Thank You Points (for example), in the same calendar year as they are earned, but, I haven’t tried that myself.

Cashback

This is where my opinion diverges greatly from Noah. For example, in his examples toward the end of the post, he cites: