Another account shutdown from Cap1

LearnMS

Level 2 Member
This is bad!

I applied for Cap1 Spark biz card couple of months ago. Bonus was 1k after 10k spend. I was just $40 short of 10k when I discovered my account is closed.

I did MS on this card with OD/OM offers and GC purchase. I did pay off the normal way (no debit or external payments). And then they dropped the axe.

Exact same thing happened with Cap1 venture card last year. But I had that card for 3 years. I don't use these cards much except for certain GC offers. It just sucks on missing out on 1k bonus.

Did I commit a crime doing MS on this card? Cap 1 has no history of reviving close card accounts.

just a DP if it helps anyone...

Sorry for the abrupt shutdown. I've been MSing on Cap 1 for the last 5 yrs. Customer service agents thank me every time for using the card so profusely when I call the 800 number. Just curious, what was your credit limit ?

LearnMS

Level 2 Member
Sorry for the abrupt shutdown. I've been MSing on Cap 1 for the last 5 yrs. Customer service agents thank me every time for using the card so profusely when I call the 800 number. Just curious, what was your credit limit ?
Credit limit was 10k. I was not even charging the card over that limit. I used to like Cap1 until they shut me down. And I am not big on MSing on this card. I will be curious to know why they did that other than the obvious....

Cmonman76

Level 2 Member
I think the closure was more due to the previous shut down on your venture card. I have seen others that were shut down then able to open another Capital One card again only to have it closed within a month or two just like you.

projectx

Level 2 Member
I think the closure was more due to the previous shut down on your venture card. I have seen others that were shut down then able to open another Capital One card again only to have it closed within a month or two just like you.