SPG -> Marriott Transfer Question

knick1959

Level 2 Member
I'm scheming to acquire a SW Companion pass for (hopefully) early in 2018. So my planning starts NOW, as we turn into 2017. I'm studying the nights+flights thing that Marriott offers. Being well over the 5/24 ratio with Chase, I doubt I can score a SW card of any kind. I'm willing to try, but want to work on a plan that doesn't require this.

Wife and I have accounts to play with. We have NO Marriott points to speak of, having used them up recently (wasn't much there anyway).

I'm also assuming I can score a Marriott BIZ card and 80k. I can perhaps MS on that a bit, but I'm looking at the 3x transfer factor available for SPG points at the moment. Have a good start and can generate a few more. I have 20k SPG points but no longer have a card. My wife has 25k+ with an active card ... so she's the likely source for 15k more points via spending.

Here's the question. My plan was for ME to get the Marriott Biz and generate the bonus. I might try right after that try for an SW card (reducing the Marriott point requirements a bit), but chances are slim. Transferring my 20k to Marriott and then a predicted 40k from my wife ... I get 260k Marriott points and we are within striking distance of a 7 day Marriott based trip and the SW companion pass. But ... can my wife transfer her SPG points to MY Marriott account, or visa-versa?

Alternatively, can you book the nights+flights deal like you can with a normal award night, where we can combine points from a married couple as long as we're redeeming them? This would have to work to get SW miles out of the deal all in one of our accounts.

If this will prove difficult (transferring and combining), SHE may be the one at the center of this idea (use her accounts instead of mine).

Sorry for the length. This is all just a scheme right now, but I should get to executing soon if this ends up being my plan. Then I'll hope the rules don't change during the year to come.