Declaring charitable deductions in excess of receipts

thedrills

Level 2 Member
Just wondering what other people do.
As a NYC resident I have crazy state and city taxes. The only plus is that it allows me this year, along with my charity to itemize and get more back.
How risky are you about reporting charity. I personally am trying to find all my transactions and receipts but it doesnt total my spreadsheet where I keep track of my charitable donations. Worst case scenario (I hope) I get a letter to substantiate my charity and anything I cant substantiate they will adjust. The rest of my return simple. but if they dont ask I get back more.

GettingReady

Level 2 Member
Just wondering what other people do.
As a NYC resident I have crazy state and city taxes. The only plus is that it allows me this year, along with my charity to itemize and get more back.
How risky are you about reporting charity. I personally am trying to find all my transactions and receipts but it doesnt total my spreadsheet where I keep track of my charitable donations. Worst case scenario (I hope) I get a letter to substantiate my charity and anything I cant substantiate they will adjust. The rest of my return simple. but if they dont ask I get back more.
It's not something I would do. Certain criteria has to be met to be considered a charitable deduction and receipts are required for amounts over $250. Below that you're still required to have a record of the donation. The following is from irs.gov.

Topic 506 - Charitable Contributions
Charitable contributions are only deductible if you itemize deductions on Form 1040, Schedule A (PDF), Itemized Deductions.